Est-ce magnifique? We try the Poppy Sloane ‘Tres Chic’ reformulated mascara

*The following post contains #gifted items*

Hello, hello, hello guys! Today you get the duo, the tag team, the beauty force that is indeed Zara AND Stacey! (Go on, name a more iconic duo… And don’t even joke that I’m Gavin, rude.) We’re taking a look at a mascara that’s hit the market with a bang, the Poppy Sloane Tres Chic mascara.

Poppy Sloane reformulated tres chic mascara

Showcased on their website as being reformulated and many a positive review to go alongside it, this mascara manages to hold a presence of being lusted for before we click add to basket. We both loved that the mascara was cruelty free and vegan and found it unique to see it was an oil free formulation – did this mean it would be drying? We admit upon further conversation our brows didn’t half furrow

Its packaging is very minimal, I quite like it, although myself and Stacey did both think that the tube itself could use a little more identification other than the branded stamp that sat atop it – it’s sleek, compact, bag friendly and the outer carton has pretty much all the information required. It also comes with an instructional, full colour printed leaflet – touché Poppy Sloane, Touché. It’s also made in the UK despite its rather french naming, so anyone fancying a mooch in the UK can benefit from free shipping on this bad boy, shaaaaTING!

Tres Chic

Zara’s take

As a wearer of lash extensions, I already knew that mascara on my top lashes wasn’t really an option. The formulation is oil free and won’t affect or disrupt my eyelash extensions; which is an absolute bonus of course, I was also assured I could use it over my extensions. However, upon discussing this with my lash technician, it was advised against. The main worry being the removal process which requires a combination of simple warm water and rolling of fingers gently to remove the tubes that the mascara creates on the lash. With an eyelash extension this could disturb the glue and shift or alter the sit of the extension, and if not done with care, could cause damage to the natural lash.

I’ll take care to add here that the mascara will not damage your lash extensions Or natural lashes! However, the removal process could do so, it is heavily advised against it wear any mascara with lash extensions. Disclaimer done lol. I really did just use the term ‘lol’ in a review didn’t I? Shame…

With that, I was left with only my lower lashes to work with, and well, I pretty much like this mascara on them! It applies quickly and, whilst I usually am not a fan of plastic spoolies, this one manages to grab all those random stray fawn hairs I always miss and coats them effectively. It adds length to the short stubby lashes I happen to have and gives a wonderfully wispy look to them which has managed to finish off a plethora of my makeup looks well. Its pigment is one of the best I’ve witnessed alongside the Essence Princess Lash mascara, and its removal process is one that actually makes me stand examining the miniature science experiment taking place on my eyelashes over my sink. It’s so easy to remove without having to smush your eyes all over the damned shop (goodbye fine line issues) it’s massively impressive!

Tres Chic mascara wand

My only downside? The price. At £15 for the reformulated version (prices correct as of 29/05/2019) it sits in the higher end of beauty budgets alongside the likes of Lancome, Benefit and Too Faced. Brands I usually cannot afford on a good day so this would be something to put on my Christmas list. Would I recommend it? Absolutely! It’s just a shame that budget wise, its slightly out of my grasp. My bottom lashes be flexin’ with it though. Just so you know that…

Stacey’s take…

Ok so I have a fair few things to say about this mascara…

Firstly, I have to say that I love the minimalistic sleek no fuss packaging, however, I’m not too fond of the £15 price tag that comes alongside it considering its size. I have purchased larger mascaras for a lot less money.


It claims to have tubing technology that removes only with water and slight tension. It also claims to hold curl, add length and add volume to the lashes.

Bare lashes

Now for me I found that as my natural lashes are on the slightly longer side, that this mascara didn’t exactly stack up for me. It added little length or volume if anything. It clumped up and flaked off and was slightly messy upon application as the formula is on the runnier side. It also unfortunately isn’t strong enough to hold my long lashes and crumbles on me when I try to layer it, however, and I say this with great honesty, it did hold my curl in my lashes well after using a lash curler, something which shocks me as my other current mascaras do not hold any curl in my lashes.

I feel this mascara would be way more suited/ beneficial for those with naturally short lashes to get a feel for the full shebang! 
I’m not by any means going to write this product off though as I have found ways of making it work better for me, and I do really like it especially for its wand size and tapered shape as its PERFECT to get right into the inner and outer corners of my bottom lashes. As my bottom lashes are short and somewhat sparse when compared to my upper ones, I find this product actually hugs my tiny lower lashes making them visible, longer and thicker which I LOVE. 

tres chic on bare lashes


I have since been using this mascara on my upper lashes, but only as a topper over my regular current mascara. I know that sounds weird but it actually tubes the mascara that’s already been applied making them thicker, longer and fuller and gives them that oomph that I would want from my current mascara. 
This also does in fact remove with water, baby wipes, makeup remover so that’s a win for me!

Tres Chic laid on top of a current mascara


To sum up this product I have to say I do really like it and will continue using it alone on my bottom lashes and as a topper to my top lashes as I found that works best for me. I would highly recommend this product to those who have short lashes as I think they will benefit the most from this mascara.

We would like to thank Poppy Sloane for the opportunity to review their Tres Chic reformulated mascara!

In the meantime,


Zara & Stacey

Catch us on our Socials!

and both of us on Facebook

The product in the above review was gifted, however, all views are our authors own

Leave a comment